What is Vanish Mode On Messenger and How to Turn it On and OFF

What is Vanish Mode On Messenger and How to Turn it On and OFF

If you have recently learned about a feature called Vanish Mode that has come to Facebook messenger thanks to the integration of many features with Instagram, then you might certainly be wondering about what is vanish mode on Messenger and how to turn it on and off.

Facebook messenger is one of the most widely used messaging apps on social media except besides Telegram or WhatsApp, therefore it is safe to say that many people use the messenger app for variety of reasons.

For this very purpose, the article will be dealing with tidbits about Vanish mode and how you can use it!

What is Vanish Mode on Messenger​

Vanish mode is a rather unique and new feature recently integrated to the Facebook Messenger, this mode essentially allows a user to send temporary messages to other people which will disappear once you have left after the other person sees it, leaving absolutely no trace.

With Vanish mode, you can send any sort of message content such as GIFS, videos, text and photos etc… The messages will automatically vanish once the other person on the receiving end of the chat sees the message and you leave the chat thereafter.

Although, it is still possible to access the messages for a few more hours after leaving the chat, however, you won’t be able to access it if you turn of Vanish mode on Facebook Messenger.

It is very similar to the disappearing messages on the Snapchat app, you may also check out What is Vanish Mode on Instagram and How to Turn it On and Off

Why should I use Vanish Mode on Messenger​

While many do not feel the need to hide anything from their friends, some may just feel slightly insecure enough to possibly want to hide some messages, or perhaps are possibly venting out and want to let the messages disappear once they have written all they want to write about.

Regardless, this is where Vanish mode helps, it essentially functions on the same formula as Incognito Mode of Google Chrome, which is where you are able to keep your browsing history from being recorded by the browser (although it is still seen by your network provider).

How to Turn On Vanish Mode on Messenger​

To know how to turn on Vanish mode on Messenger, do the following steps:

  1. Open the Facebook messenger app and select the person you want to have a conversation with
  2. Swipe up from the bottom of the screen, once you do that, you should be able to see a circle along with the message “swipe up to turn on Vanish Mode”
  3. Drag until the circle is colored to the full

With these three simple steps, the Vanish mode on messenger will activate with a message about what it is along with the chat window turning dark.

How to Turn Off Vanish Mode on Messenger​

If you want to turn off Vanish mode on Messenger, do the following steps:

  1. Open the Facebook messenger app and select the person you are chatting with using Vanish mode
  2. Tap on Turn off Vanish mode or swipe up to turn off Vanish mode
Check this article to know How to Remove Shop Button on Instagram

Points to remember while using Vanish Mode on Messenger​

These are some points one should know about while using Vanish mode on Messenger:

  • You will get a notification from messenger if the other person turns on Vanish mode and vice-versa
  • Any content shared while in Vanish mode can neither be shared, nor be forwarded or copied along with being saved
  • You are able to turn on Vanish mode for multiple people while chatting with them individually, the same can’t be done in group chats unfortunately
  • You are able to report the content for any suspicious content while in Vanish mode
  • The other person can take a screenshot of the messages on Vanish mode before they disappear
  • You can only use Vanish mode with those you are friends with or have connected.

With this, your doubts should be cleared about what is Vanish mode on Messenger and how to turn it on and off

Conclusion

What is Vanish mode on Messenger? While Vanish mode’s idea is similar to Incognito mode and not entirely a brand new concept, it is a very useful one as a person is able to hide their silly messages or mistakes while chatting using Vanish mode. If you have any more queries, don’t forget to comment them below!

Check this article to know How to Change Instagram Notification Sound on Android and iPhone

Common FAQs: What is Vanish Mode on Messenger​

What is the Difference Between Secret Conversation Mode and Vanish Mode? ​

Many may feel that the Vanish mode is extremely similar to the Secret Conversation mode on messenger, however, there are some stark differences that one can note between the two such as:

Messages will be recorded for the sender chat history in Secret Conversation mode,  Essentially, the sender can access the messages at any time even if they have made the messages disappear after a set time limit for the receiver.

Whereas, the Vanish mode will essentially make sure that the messages disappear for both parties without leaving a trace along with no time limit.

What happens when you take a screenshot in Vanish Mode? ​

The receiver will get a notification of the other person taking a screenshot of their message in Vanish mode, the same goes for screen recording.

What happens to my existing messages when I turn on Vanish Mode?​

Whatever message you were writing before turning on Vanish mode will still be there, you can access them after turning off Vanish mode

Why I can't access Vanish Mode on my Messenger?​

If you are unable to access Vanish mode on Messenger, then first and foremost, make sure that you are using the latest version of the Facebook messenger app.

Also make sure that Vanish mode is available in the country you are living in. Alternatively, you may also use Secret Conversation mode on Messenger to send secret messages.

Leave a Reply